Valorant: Can Bronze Play with Gold?

I don’t know much about boxing, but I know a lot about Valorant, and I’m guessing you want to rank up faster. You might also think about turning to valorant boost from Skycoach to rank in a couple of hours, but in the meantime, let’s discuss the rank system.

Getting to Competitive Mode

As in any good multiplayer game, the developers thought of a way to get you prepared as a player to compete against other players. Unrated matches are a great way to practice, you get a chance to test your preparedness before you dive into the competition. You need to play some matches before they let you into Competitive mode.

Ranks in Valorant

The ranking system in Valorant is quite practical. It’s there to make sure that you don’t get matched with a team of godlike players as soon as you get through your placement matches. There are 9 key ranks in Valorant, and they also have sub-rankings in terms of 3 levels each except the last one:

  • Iron: This is the first rank, it’s for beginners, and things are very competitive on this rank. It’s a chance to improve your skill because the game assumes that you have no idea what you’re doing at this point.
  • Bronze: Here, we’re pretty sure that you still have little to no map awareness and very little experience in how to play the game, but you’ve improved on your aim a little bit at least.
  • Silver: At this rank, you already probably have good aim, but you don’t communicate well with others still. So, players lack collaboration at this point, but it’s still something you can easily improve on.
  • Gold: The difference between Silver and Gold is not that large. At this rank, the key to winning games is to communicate with your team. The players aim better and their overall play strategy is better.
  • Platinum: In this rank, you’ll see an increased game sense and a need to communicate more with the team. That’s why team play is much more in sync, but you can get mixed with a Silver-ranked player which can be a pain.
  • Diamond: This is where most players give in to lurking. Their aim is great, and the positioning within and on the team is thoroughly thought through. There’s Duelist favoritism. Everybody is good at being a Duelist, and not much else.
  • Ascendant: Players on this rank probably had more luck than players still in the Diamond rank. They just might be slightly better. Their utility usage is good, and the teams know how to exploit the weaknesses of other teams very well.
  • Immortal: This is where you’ve proven your aim is great, and it’s probably not going to get better than that. So, the ranking will depend mostly on team play and utility usage, and you need to play smart.
  • Radiant: When you reach this rank, you are a godlike player, you know the game inside and out, you use utilities effectively, and you’ve got a great sense of the maps.

How Do Ranks Work in Valorant?

Ranks in Valorant are not that difficult to understand, and you’ll get the hang of them once you play the game for a longer time. This is only natural, but let’s talk about placement and climbing those ranks.

Valorant Placement

You have to complete several unrated matches before you get to the placement phase. At that phase, you will play around 5-10 matches where you’ll get a score and the score will rank you according to yours and the performance of your team.

The things that determine your rating are kills, deaths, assists, rounds won, and the outcomes of the matches. You’ll get a skill evaluation, i.e. a number that marks your overall skills. If you’re entirely unfamiliar with this type of game, you’ll probably end up in the Iron rank.

Valorant Rank Climb

You get ranked in points representing your rating, and it’s how you climb the scoreboard. But, to even be on the official scoreboard, you need to reach the Immortal 1 rank. However, it usually takes around 100 rank rating to move into the lower ranks.

So, pretty much up to Ascendant, maybe even Diamond, it will take around 100 rank ratings to switch between ranks. After you get to Ascendant, it gets a bit more difficult, skillful players play on that stage.

Which Ranks Can Play Against Each Other?

So, Bronze vs Gold rank in Valorant? Well, not so much. Here’s which ranks can play which:

    • Iron and Bronze: They can play their rank, and you get an occasional bump to Silver to test your skill and move up the ladder.
  • Silver: They can play their rank, but you’ll get bumped to Gold to test your abilities and remain there if you succeed.
  • Gold: Again, their rank, plus occasional bumps to upper ranks when you know you’re becoming much more skilled.
  • High ranks: Each higher rank from Platinum to Radiant can play their rank and 1 tier higher. This means that Diamond 2 can play Ascendant 2 for example.



We’re sure that no matter the rank you land, you’ll be able to move through them quickly, and with enough practice reach your desired rank as soon as possible. Think about coaching to get your game on.

About the author


Leave a Comment